de en

Blog - Articles around AI, ML, DL and more

Tools for Deep Learning, importance of machine learning, Java and artificial intelligence - these and much more are topics our blog is dedicated to. We encounter new challenges every day and want to share our experience and insights with you. On this overview page you can see teasers of all previous blog posts. Feel free to click through, browse our current series of topics on MLOps and get excited about the posts to come! If you have any feedback, experiences, or topic requests, please feel free to contact us - we look forward to hearing from you.

Blog Articles

25 Oct 2021

Git as a management tool for training data and experiments in ML

In this part of the series of articles on MLOps, we start with information that will be familiar to most of you: With the basics of Git. However, to give a different perspective on the well-known tool, these basics provide the basis to highlight the function and benefits of Git for machine learning (ML) and the difference in managing training data.

02 Aug 2021

MLOps: Establishment and operation of an AI

With Machine Learning Operations (MLOps) we ensure that data is efficiently and strategically integrated into business processes through regular and automated training, thus contributing to increased revenue. The challenge is to establish and maintain these automated processes.

31 Aug 2020

Types of Artificial Neural Networks

In our real-world example, we used a “feed-forward neural network” to recognise handwritten numbers. This is probably the most basic form of a NN. In reality, however, there are hundreds of types of mathematical formulas that are used – beyond addition and multiplication – to compute steps in a neural network, many different ways to arrange the layers, and many mathematical approaches to train the network.

17 Jul 2020

Amazon DJL - a new DL framework for Java

Developers who wanted to explore neural networks and deep learning using the JVM, and especially Java, had little choice so far. Those who wanted to focus exclusively on Java could not get around DL4J until now. If it had to be the JVM, but not necessarily Java, the MXNet Scala Frontend was also an option. Finally, if a little Python didn’t scare you, you could try a hybrid solution, combining TensorFlow and Java just like we already explained in previous articles.

29 Jun 2020

Text comprehension and automated text generation with NLP, NLU and NLG

So far, we have generally steered clear of the areas of text comprehension and text generation by ML in our practical examples for the basic understanding of AI. For good reason, we have focused primarily on two types of problems: classification of images and prediction of numerical values.

23 Jun 2020

The five most common mistakes with Neural networks

AI and especially Neural Networks or Deep Learning have been the technological hype topic for some years now. However, since the subject is quite abstract – one could say it is uncharted territory for most people – we want to clear up some mistakes that we often encounter in our work.

02 Jun 2020

What are Neural Networks and how do they work?

In our past articles we mainly covered the basics of current AI research and tried to shed some light on them in a way that is understandable for non-IT scientists. We are now proceeding to the probably “hottest” current AI topic: Neural Networks (NN).

12 May 2020

Deep Java Learning - NDManager & NDArray

After our first presentation of Amazon’s new Deep Learning Framework for Java, DJL, we now want to introduce the basics of Deep Learning under Java with DJL step by step in a series of beginner posts. This is not about quickly copying code snippets, but about really understanding the framework and the concepts.

11 May 2020

Deep Fakes - How to spot faked Images

A (fairly) new kind of neural networks, so-called Generative Adversarial Networks or GANs, are nowadays capable of generating deceptively real images of people that do not actually exist. These fake images are indistinguishable from real photos at first glance. Fortunately, you might still uncover them if you look closely – if you know what to look for! 

28 Jun 2019

Recap: ML Conference 2019 in Munich

On 17.06. another round of the semi annual ML Conference started in Munich. As usual, it started with a day-long workshop with joint live coding, giving the participants an approachable introduction into Machine Learning and Deep Learning.

de en

Blog - Artikel rund um KI, ML, DL und mehr

Tools für Deep Learning, Bedeutung des maschinellen Lernens, Java und künstliche Intelligenz - diese und viel mehr sind Themen, denen sich unser Blog widmet. Wir stoßen dabei täglich vor neuen Herausforderungen und möchten unsere Erfahrung und Erkenntnisse mit euch teilen. Auf dieser Übersichtsseite seht ihr Teaser aller bisherigen Blogbeiträge. Klickt euch gerne durch, stöbert durch unsere aktuelle Themenserie zu MLOps und seid gespannt auf die noch kommenden Beiträge! Für euer Feedback, eure Erfahrung oder Themenwünsche haben wir gern ein offenes Ohr - wir freuen uns auf eure Meinung.

Blog Artikel

25 Okt. 2021

Git als Verwaltungstool für Trainingsdaten und Experimente beim ML

Wir beginnen in diesem Teil der Artikelserie über MLOps mit Informationen, die den meisten von euch bekannt sein werden: Mit den Basics von Git. Um jedoch eine andere Sichtweise auf das bekannte Tool aufzuzeigen, bieten diese Grundlagen die Basis, um die Funktion und Vorteile von Git für das maschinelle Lernen (ML) und den Unterschied bei der Verwaltung von Trainingsdaten zu betonen.

02 Aug. 2021

MLOps: Etablierung und Betrieb einer KI

Mit Machine Learning Operations (MLOps) stellen wir sicher, dass Daten durch regelmäßiges und automatisiertes Training effizient und strategisch in die unternehmerischen Abläufe eingebunden werden und somit zur Umsatzsteigerung beitragen. Die Herausforderung besteht darin, diese automatisierten Prozesse zu etablieren und instand zu halten.

29 Juni 2020

Textverständnis und automatisierte Texterzeugung mit NLP, NLU und NLG

Bisher haben wir bei unseren Praxisbeispielen für das Grundverständnis von KI in der Regel einen großen Bogen um die Bereiche Textverständnis und Texterzeugung durch ML gemacht. Aus gutem Grund haben wir uns in erster Linie auf zwei Arten von Problemen konzentriert: Die Klassifikation von Bildern und die Vorhersage von Zahlwerten.

12 Mai 2020

Deep Java Learning - NDManager & NDArray

Nach unserer ersten Vorstellung von Amazons neuem Deep Learning Frameworks für Java, DJL, wollen wir nun in einer Reihe von Anfängerposts Schritt für Schritt die Grundlagen von Deep Learning unter Java mit DJL vorstellen. Hierbei soll es nicht um das schnelle Kopieren von Code Snippets, sondern um das wirkliche Verständnis des Frameworks und der Konzepte gehen.

28 Apr. 2020

Amazon DJL - ein neues Deep Learning Framework für Java

Wer auf der JVM und insbesondere in Java mit neuronalen Netzen und Deep Learning experimentieren wollte, für die gab es bisher nur wenig Auswahl. Wer ausschließlich auf Java setzen wollte, kam bisher an DL4J nicht vorbei. Wenn es die JVM, aber nicht unbedingt Java sein muss, kommt auch noch das Scala Frontend von MXNet in Frage. Wen schließlich ein wenig Python nicht schreckt, die kann eine Hybrid Lösung aus TensorFlow und Java probieren, wie wir bereits in früheren Artikeln erläutert haben.

06 März 2020

Was sind Neuronale Netze und wie funktionieren sie?

Nachdem es in den letzten Beiträgen überwiegend um die Grundlagen der derzeitigen KI-Forschung ging und wir versucht haben, diese für Nicht-ITler verständlich zu beleuchten, wagen wir uns heute an das aktuell wohl „heißeste“ KI-Thema, die Neuronalen Netze (NN).

06 März 2020

Die 5 häufigsten Irrtümer über Neuronale Netze

KI und insbesondere Neuronale Netze und Deep Learning sind seit einigen Jahren das technologische Hype Thema. Da die Materie aber recht abstrakt ist – man könnte sagen, für die meisten ist es Neuland – wollen wir hier einige Irrtümer bereinigen, denen wir in unserer Arbeit häufiger begegnen.

06 März 2020

Arten von Künstlichen Neuronalen Netzen

In unserem Praxis-Beispiel haben wir zur Erkennung von handgeschriebenen Ziffern ein “feed-forward neural network” genutzt. Dieses ist die wohl einfachste Form eines NN. In der Praxis gibt es jedoch hunderte Arten von mathematischen Formeln, die über Addition und Multiplikation hinaus benutzt werden, um Schritte in einem Neuronalen Netz zu berechnen, viele verschiedene Arten, die Schichten anzuordnen, und viele mathematische Ansätze das Netz zu trainieren.

22 Okt. 2019

Deep Fakes - Woran man Fake-Bilder erkennen kann

Eine (relativ) neue Art neuronaler Netze, sogenannte Generative Adversarial Networks (zu deutsch etwa ‚erzeugende gegnerische Netzwerke’) oder GANs, sind heutzutage in der Lage, täuschend echte Bilder von Menschen zu erzeugen, die es gar nicht gibt. Diese Fake Bilder sind auf den ersten Blick von echten Fotos nicht mehr zu unterscheiden – aber zum Glück auf den zweiten Blick schon.

26 Juni 2019

Recap zur ML Konferenz 2019 in München

Am 17.06. war es wieder so weit: die halbjährlich stattfindende ML Conference startete mit einem Workshoptag, der allen Teilnehmerinnen durch gemeinsames Live-Coding einen verständlichen Einstieg in die Themen Machine Learning und Deep Learning erlaubte.